Letter from an American Muslim friend

On Friday, September 3rd, I received the following condemnation of the recent terrorist attacks against innocent Jewish civilians in the West Bank from an American Muslim businessman in the U.S.A, by the name of S.A. Ibrahim, who is originally from India. Mr. Ibrahim, who has become a friend of ICCI during the past two years and who is a man deeply committed to interreligious dialogue for the sake of peace, gave me permission to post his e-mail to me on this blog.

Dear Rabbi Ron:

Earlier this week, I called the Israeli Embassy in Washington, with the message that as an American Muslim I condemn the killings and violence directed against Israelis that occurred in the last few days. This violence as well as other hateful words and actions by extremists are designed to derail the peace process. More than ever, decent people of all faiths should come forward to condemn such actions, regardless of which side they come from and continue working towards peace.

I also wanted to pass along my appreciation for Prime Minister Nethanyahu’s Ramadan greetings to all Muslims and wish him, as well as Chairman Abbas, courage and wisdom as they take their people (and the rest of the world) on this new path to peace. May their efforts be successful and bring peace, prosperity and security to all the people of the Middle East.

Finally I wanted to wish my Jewish friends Shana Tova for the New Year and my Muslim friends Eid Mubarak — both a few days away. It may be an auspicious sign that these holidays are at the same time this year.

As always my dear friend, I close with deep admiration for your tireless efforts in bringing the people from the three great Abrahamic faiths together.

Shabbat Shalom and Happy Last Jumma in Ramadan,

S.A. Ibrahim

Leave a Reply

