The French Shootings

Copy of e-mail sent to PM’s office and the Israel Embassy

From: Ibrahim, S.A.
Sent: Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:33 AM
Subject: French Shootings

I was shocked to hear of the cold blooded murder of innocent children, their teacher and the soldiers in Toulouse. I am filled with deep sadness and extreme revulsion and my heart goes out the families of the victims and to the French Jewish community and the people of France and to parents everywhere . Sometimes in the face of such hate filled acts, I wonder if the work being done to fight hate has a chance of success at all. Yet, I know that we cannot give up, if only because all of us would rather go to our graves having tried than not even having attempted to make a difference. Organizations like the ADL and decent people of all nationalities and persuasions have to become even more dedicated to fight hate in all its manifestations. Equally, the international community has to focus on bringing those responsible for acts of hate and for the murder of innocent children to justice (if justice can ever be done in such cases).

I would like to offer my sympathies and condolences to the victims’ families but don’t know how to go about it and don’t know if I can come up with adequate words that can even slightly console the deep hurt. As a parent, as a human being and as a Muslim, who is disgusted at what some who profess my faith do in the distorted belief that they are protecting its honor, I can only say that I am sorry that parents like me had to experience the ultimate horror that any parent can ever experience. In not being able to come up with more words for the bereaved, I am reminded of Job who sat silently and the wisdom of the Torah, in the words of Rabbi Abin, who said: “At times like this the Torah takes refuge in silence.”

However, when it comes to the act itself, I have strong words of condemnation as I hope do the majority of the followers of my faith as well as all caring human beings around the world.

SA Ibrahim

Mr. S.A. Ibrahim is chief executive officer of a US-based global credit risk management company. He is a Muslim American businessman of Indian origin, who has made pilgrimage to Mecca twice in recent years. Mr. Ibrahim has become a friend of ICCI during the past two years, and is active in promoting interreligious dialogue. In June 2011, he was awarded ICCI’s first “Building Bridges and Bonds” Award for his commitment and dedication to the vision and mission of ICCI.

Leave a Reply

